Daily Archives: April 3, 2008

hopefully friendly not sketchy

(Anyone who was hoping to see pictures of “Gala 2008: There’s no place like Bates” is out of luck. Sorry.)

But I can tell you about how I skipped dinner in Commons to call accepted students and eat Thai food provided by the Admissions Office. Why did I do that and not work on my thesis? (Good question….)

One of my more memorable experiences at Bates happened before I even got here. It was when I got a phone call from a random Batesie, calling to say congratulations and asking if I had any questions. At the time, I was naive and thought that I was something special. Now I realize the students have a sheet of paper to guide them in the general outline of the conversation. But hey, that personal touch is still there.

So if you’re in that group of students, you may have gotten your phone call already. I hope you asked questions, because after making these calls for the past four years, it’s always a wee bit awkward when the accepted student doesn’t have much to say– since the “guide” doesn’t really give too many pointers to fill the silence.

If you didn’t get a phone call, here’s the key info:

1. CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR ACCEPTANCE TO BATES!

2. Do you have any questions? Please feel free to email and ask if you can’t think of any right now.

3. Hope to see you at the Accepted Student Reception! (April 23, here on campus)

But really. I think this is a great thing Bates does, and I definitely remember thinking that the phone call totally went along with the impression I had already gotten from the campus– friendly and invested in each other. I mean, I always have fun talking to prospective students. It’s weird this year though, because I won’t recognize anyone next year– because I won’t be here.

Funny story: I called someone my freshman year– a transfer student who was still on the fence about coming to Bates– and then when I saw they were a “friend of a friend” on good ol’ Facebook I friended him– super happy he decided to come to Bates. Apparently I came off as sketchy and not friendly (or maybe our conversation wasn’t too memorable), because we’re not Facebook friends to this day.