Daily Archives: April 9, 2008

Procrastination during finals week.

Well, I guess technically I’m done with my finals, but I thought that maybe this might be interesting… My friend Kate and I were in a class last year about the Rwandan genocide (a French seminar), and then she got a grant to go to Rwanda! It was one of the 100 Projects for Peace.  So you should probably read about her and how she turned her experience into a thesis.

I have cool friends:

http://media.www.batesstudent.com/media/storage/paper1116/news/2008/03/25/News/HarmsworthMorrissey.Studies.History.Of.Representation.Of.Rwandan.Genocide.In.Lef-3282147.shtml

lions and tigers and bobcats, oh my!

Yeah, it’s corny… but the theme of this year’s Gala was “There’s no place like Bates”. Thank you, Bates College, for making my last Gala extremely sentimental. Heck, I even wore red shoes and clicked my heels together throughout the night. Needless to say, I greatly enjoyed the whole shebang. I planned ahead, and got my work done throughout the week so I could relax on Saturday. Watched some tv, made a pre-Gala dance mix… you know, the usual. (Definitely not a typical Saturday for me. I happily avoided the library…) Anyway… a lot of people go out to eat the night before, but other people have the attitude that they’ll eat at the event– our dining services always has a chocolate fountain or two, plus some meat carving thing and sometimes sushi… there are dinner rolls, I think… I only made it to the chocolate fountain this year– I was too busy making sure I saw everyone I wanted to see (I didn’t) and making sure I collected a souvenir from this year (my freshman year there were decks of cards for the Monte Carlo theme, glittery light up rings for last year’s (2)007 theme…). This year, I snagged a golden wand and a pinwheel. There were lollipops around too, but I forgot about that part of the movie until after I got home. The other really fun part was that some of the staff dressed up as characters from the movie– so Glinda, the Cowardly Lion and Dorothy were there. And in the entry way, there was a Bates bike with a bobcat in the basket next to a yellow brick road. Awww…. luckily, my preemptive graduation nostalgia didn’t give way to tears.